More insanity from Stan Huskey

Posted: 18 October 2005 in civil rights, human rights, media, republicans, stan huskey

I’m not sure what I attributed, incorrectly, to you but I would like to know so I can correct the error.
I appreciate your heartfelt e-mail, but personally, I don’t think it would be possible for you to be more off base.
First let’s touch on what you don’t know about me but decided to assume. I grew on the shorter side of middle class. My mother is a divorced mother of four boys who could eat their weight at every sitting. She raised us by
herself and I have more respect for her than most people I know. And while I don’t remember thread-bare clothing, I do remember that I didn’t get a “new” pair of pants for at least the first decade of my life (I’m the youngest).
Second, this is not a regressive tax. People do not go to the poor house because of a 5 percent tax on food. They go to the poor house, figuratively speaking of course, because of things like health care, which you touched
on.
Third, Montgomery Hospital is talking about moving now, before the tax is changed, so where’s the logic in that argument?
Thank you once again for taking the time to write, and I would like to know when and where you were incorrectly attributed.

Stan Huskey, editor
The Times Herald

Sigh.

Mr. Huskey,

In your August 22nd column, which was, in effect, a sequel to your column from August 15th, you refer to me and then quote me without mentioning me by name. You say “a gentleman from Norristown took the conversation just a step or two further when he attempted to explained to me the differences between Democrats and Republicans. In doing so, he inadvertently pointed out that there are a great many similarities.” No where in my letter did I point out any similarities, advertently or inadvertently. You simply state that I do without backing that statement up with fact, expecting your readers to just take your word that some anonymous gentleman from Norristown made your point for you.

Now, on to your recent points. Again, you use gross leaps of logic in your interpretation of my letter, which I did not actually leave open for interpretation. I did not assume anything about your upbringing. My exact quote was “You may not know…”. No where in that statement did I make any kind of solid assumption. If I had, I would have said “You don’t know”. See the difference?

You say that people do not go to the poor house because of a 5% tax on food. No, perhaps not. But people don’t typically die because of a cold, now do they? I’m sure, though, if someone who was already critically ill were to contract a cold, they might run a higher risk of dying. The same principle applies here. People who are already poor cannot afford yet another 5% tax increase. Again, you pull a rabbit out of my quote. Never did I insinuate that your tax plan would send people to the poor house. I said that it would affect the people who are already there, thus widening the gap between the “haves” and the “have-nots”.

Your plan is flawed in the belief that a flat tax is equality. It is certainly not. That $1,800/year in taxes on food is a much greater percentage to someone who makes $15,000/year than it is to someone who makes $50,000/year. $1,800/year would have forced some hard questions when I was growing up about which utilities to pay, or which to skip, birthdays or Christmas. Your tax plan unfairly shifts the burden onto the poor.

Finally, you ask me where the logic is in arguing about Montgomery General moving before the institution of your unbalanced tax plan. The logic is that if Montgomery General is moving now, before the conditions I outline take effect, how long will it be before Suburban is engulfed with twice the problem that Montgomery General is suffering from? Will Suburban be forced to close up and move to, say, Limerick?

Your tax plan has the veneer of equality, but would succeed only in dragging everyone down. Real economic equality, or even fairness, can only be achieved when those who have more realize that they are not living free of charge in this great nation. Some people sacrifice their time, some people sacrifice their lives. They didn’t do that for just a few, they did it for everyone. The rest of us should, at the very least, be more than happy to sacrifice part of our incomes for the betterment of all of us. America doesn’t work when we think only about our selves.

This guy is my new favorite bugbear. I tried to be nice before, but now it’s on…

Leave a Reply

