Miss Calee-fornya

Posted: 23 April 2009 in civil rights, human rights, media, politics

So, there’s all this kerfluffle about Miss California Carrie Prejean’s response to Perez Hilton’s question about same-sex marriage.  A lot of the foaming-at-the-mouth outrage I’m hearing involves how horrible a person Hilton is for slamming her over it after the fact, and how she was so brave to stand up and speak her mind and should be lauded for it.  Well, let’s look at the exchange, shall we? Hilton asked:

Vermont recently became the fourth state to legalize same-sex marriage.  Do you think every state should follow suit? Why or why not?

Simple question:  Explain your position on nationwide legalization of same-sex marriage.  Prejean responds:

Well I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other.  Um, we live in a land that you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage.  And you know what, in my country, and in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman.  No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think it should be, between a man and a woman.

This answer comes off the rails from the first sentence.  Apparently, she believes that there are only four states in the union now, because “we live in a land that you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage.”  Remember, she “represents” a state that at one point had legal same-sex marriages, does not any longer, and has elements seeking to nullify marriages that were performed legally.  In no regard does she “live in a land that you can choose same-sex marriage.”  I’m not sure where she thinks she is.  She continues with a tentative statement of belief: “I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman.” You think that you believe?  Is it possible that maybe you don’t?

Note that in the entirety of her response, she never once answered either part of the question.  We know from her response that:

  • Same-sex marriage is already legal in this country
  • she’s fairly certain that marriage should be between a man and a woman
  • that’s how she was raised, in her country and her family.

However, we do not know if

  • Every state should legalize same-sex marriage
  • Why or why not.

But at least her answer didn’t reference The Iraq and South Africa.

Comments
  1. Leigh says:

    You know, I think it’s funny that there is a segment of the gay community that really wishes that people would stop asking Hilton about this. Mainly because Hilton doesn’t represent them, or the seriousness of the gay marriage situation and they feel that he is actually doing more harm by portraying gay men as nasty people. I can see where they are going, they want people who are more serious to be talking about this, rather than a man who called a bobblehead blonde a cunt.
    Incidentally, how did I miss that you had a blog now?

    • Còmhradh says:

      Yeah, I don’t think that Perez Hilton is the best spokesman out there, but you go to war with the army you have, right? =P

      As for the blog, you need to check your LJ friends page once in a while =) I’m mirroring this blog there, too. I moved off of my old one entirely last week.

  2. Leigh says:

    Do you know long it’s been since I’ve been on LJ? I have actually just about completely phased out of LJ and into a more public forum. I’m such a trend whore, it’s only a matter of time before I start to Tweet. Or I would if I were more interesting. Heheh.
    The biggest thing that Hilton has going for him is that fact that he is famous. So there is that, a famous gay man going to war over gay marriage. The only other person doing that until now was Ellen (famous American gay person wise, because Elton John doesn’t really count over here).

  3. Còmhradh says:

    I locked down my LJ a month ago or so when I realized that all that public exposure could come back to chew on my ass. That, and I wanted to trim some people off my flist. Then I migrated over here because it’s open, but still anonymous enough. And it gives me a chance to noodle with the code =)

Leave a Reply

