Nettles

Posted: 7 September 2010 in civil rights, human rights, religion

Facebook is a hell of a drug. There are four categories of people I am connected with on Facebook:

1) People that I see on a regular basis that I often communicate with,
2) People that I don’t see on a regular basis that I often communicate with,
3) People that I know casually that I rarely communicate with,
4) People that I was friends with/worked with ages ago that I almost never communicate with.

(Interestingly, even though I have a relatively small extended family, I can place a family member into each of these categories.)

Recently, on my Facebook updates feed, there have been a number of people in the bottom three categories who have posted updates like “Let’s see how many true Christians are on FB! Press Like if Jesus is your Savior!!” and “JESUS IS LORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you know this is true press like. :)” and so forth. For the record, those are copied exactly. If you don’t capitalize “Jesus is Lord” and follow it with 27 exclamation points, it’s apparently not official.

This sort of thing rankles me for a few reasons. Firstly, because it’s the most inane sort of religious jingoism. “Look at how much I love my deity! I’m mangling my native tongue and speaking like a twelve-year-old about him!” Secondly, it gets under my skin because this is acceptable behavior, whereas if I were to post “THERE IS NO GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you know this is true press like. :),” sparks would fly (see next post for an example of this). Sparks would fly, because two of the people posting this dreck are my aunt and my mother. Like I said, Facebook is a hell of a drug.

So, last night, I got fed up with the recent splattering of OMGJEBUS on my Facebook updates, and decided to nettle back. Of course, I did it on the sly – I changed my religious views to Agnostic Atheist and “liked” Agnostic Atheism. So far the fur hasn’t begun flying, but I can imagine that someone is going to take notice. Chances are, my sister is going to tell me all about how my mother went on and on about the horrible thing I said on Facebook (again).

Leave a Reply

